picturesque on the north side of the Trongisvagsfjørður-inlet on the
east coast of Suðuroy.
The ferry from Tórshavn calls at Drelnes that is located on the
opposite side of the inlet. The trip from Tórshavn to Tvøroyri
takes 2 hours. The ferry is large and if the weather is nice the
trip is beautiful. It is possible to go by bus from the harbour of
Drelnes to Tvøroyri and all other villages on the island.
In the centre of Tvøroyri, just above the harbour, is a hotel called
Between the harbour and the hotel lies a square covered by flat
stones. Fish used to be dried in the sun here. The Royal Trade
Monopoly that had a branch here from 1836 to 1856 built the old
houses in the area. The village of Tvøroyri was actually founded due
to this branch.
When the monopoly was abolished in 1856 private companies were
founded on Tvøroyri. One of these grew into the largest in the Faroe
Islands. It had 20 branches and 30 ships.
There also lies a museum in the area above the harbour.
Tvøroyri has a large fillet-factory that initiated its production in
The church in Tvøroyri rises high above the village and can be seen
from far away. It was constructed in Norway as a building set, moved
to Tvøroyri and then built here in 1907. The old church was moved to
From Tvøroyri one can take a nice walk across the mountains to a
valley called Hvannhagi. There is a nice view over the valley and
the sea from above the valley. It is also possible to go down into
the valley by following the track after the gate.
Tvøroyri and Vágur take turns in hosting an annual civic-festival
called Jóansoka. It can be described as a smaller version of the
Ólavsøka held in Tórshavn. It runs in late June.