Vágur is the second-largest village on Suđuroy.
As most of the villages it is located in an inlet on the
eastside of the island.
Vágur has a slipway, a modern fleet of fishing-vessels and a fillet-factory.
In the bottom of the inlet there is a little beach. The distance from the beach to the west coast is only
4-5 kilometres. In this area there is a cosy little lake and a sports-arena.
The west coast is here called Vags-Eiđi. The nature here is beautiful and impressive. The sea, the high
mountains, the rocks and the reefs comprise a breathtaking view.
In the beginning of the 20th century an aerial ropeway was used to float the boats at VágsEiđi. This
made it possible to go fishing from the West-coast also.
The present concrete-church in Vágur is from 1927.
It is said that the very first church in Vágur came drifting from Norway where it had been thrown into the
sea as a votive-gift.
A church from 1862 is today located in Hov. It was moved from Vágur to Hov in 1942.
The first hydroelectric power station of the Faroe Islands was built in Vágur in 1920. Currently a modern
diesel-powered station located on the south side of the inlet supplements the old station.
Vágur and Tvřroyri take turns in hosting an annual civic-festival called Joansoka. It can be described as
a smaller version of the Ólavsřka held in Tórshavn . It is held in late June.
Nólsoyar Páll, a Faeroese national hero, built his ship 'Royndin Frida' in Vágur in 1804. Actually he rebuilt
an old brittish vessel.
In 1860 Jacob Dahl founded his own company that by time grew into on of the largest in the Faroe Islands.
In 1967 Vágur was hit by several small earth-quakes. This is very rare on the Faroe Islands so people
were scared and many of them fled in panic to Tórshavn .